About Kosher Wine

Kosher wine is considered to be kosher when wine production complies with Jewish dietary guidelines and laws.

Only Sabbath-observant Jews can be involved in the making of kosher wine and under the supervision of a rabbi. It starts form the planting of the grape seeds to final storage of bottles and distribution. This literally means from grape seed to final serving.

Let us know if you want to serve kosher wine at your event.

Rules for Producing Kosher Wines

  1. Only grapevines which are four years old can be used.
  2. Traditional wine making ingredients can not be used. Only kosher ingredients which are marked as kosher can be used
  3. No grain or other wine additives normally used in the wine making industry.
  4. The wine maker must have a separate area designated for kosher. Separate equipment, fermentation tanks, barrels, bottles and storage.
  5. Only wine which is designated as Mevushal can be served by a non-Jew to a Jew. This maintains the essence of kosher. Mevushal means flash pasteurization
    or boiling.

List of Accepatable Mevushal Kosher Wines

  • O’Dwyers Creek, Sauvignoon Blanc, 2011
  • Goose Bay, Pinot Grigio, 2011
  • Drappier, Brut, Carte D’or NV
  • Hagafe, White Riesling,Rancho Wieruszowski,2011
  • Herzog Special Reserve, Cabernet Sauvignon, Alexander Valley 2009
  • Weinstock,Cellar Select, Zinfandel, Lodi, 2010

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *